Sri Lanka Red Cross elects a new Central Governing Board for the next 4 years

Posted on Monday, January 15th, 2018

16/01/2018 – Colombo, Sri Lanka: The Sri Lanka Red Cross Society elected a new governing board while reelecting the terms of President & National Secretary for the next four years.

The Bienneal General Meeting got underway in Colombo on the 13th of January 2018 with the presence of IFRC & ICRC dignitaries. Here new and previous members who were vying to fill 15 positions made their case to the members of SLRCS in order to be elected for those posts.

After the round of election, the below were elected for a four year period.


Jagath Abeysinghe (Re-elected uncontested)

Vice President 1 

Bharatha Jonikkuhewa (Re-elected)

Vice President 2 

Upali Sirimanne

National Secretary 

Nimal Kumar (Re-elected uncontested)

Chairman of the Finance Commission 

Prasanna Dassanayake (Re-elected)


Central Governing Board Member

Charles Corea

Ajith Sooriya Bandara

Amila Ishan Kankanamge

Kulasekarampillai Balakrishnan

Mahippu Kankanamge Chandrasiri

Anton Victoria

Sanath Abeyratne

Thambipodi Vasandarajah

Don Subadra

Ajith Kumara Jayarathne